Rising from the Ashes – I Really do feel your Pain: part II

During the mid-1990’s, the healthcare industry took a hit and many of us in healthcare-related businesses, felt the brunt of an economic downturn that forced us to close our doors.  My physician recruiting business was one if its casualties.

Like much of what has happened to many small business owners during the past 18 months, my business closure was not the result of incompetency, poor management, or fatal mistakes.  My company was caught up in the effects of a sluggish healthcare market exacerbated by a transition of technology.  It was a perfect storm, if you will. I was left with debts that I paid back and a large tax bill that I retired on a timely basis without penalty by liquidating personal assets.

As a candidate for Congress, some of my opponents have decided that my experiences and struggles make me unqualified to serve as the US Congressman from Tennessee’s 5th district.  I suspect today, however, there are many struggling small business owners and others among the ranks of the unemployed (through no fault of their own) who would appreciate knowing that their Congressman really does feel their pain – the pain of loss brought on by the ebb and flow of business cycles, exacerbated this time by the unsound fiscal policies of the federal government.

If you find yourself in this situation, I have two things to say:

First, there is life after a setback. Hard work, cooperation, and faith form a winning strategy for rising from the ashes.  After our setback, we rebuilt our lives.  While I learned a new skill, we completed the home education of our children, I finished a graduate degree, accepted an adjunct faculty position, and helped all three children graduate from college.  You, too, can rise from a setback.  If you are out of work, do not give up.  If you are behind on your financial obligations, use the Dave Ramsey plan to get back on track.  If you are being put down by others because of your misfortune, pay no attention and go about the business of rebuilding your life.  “If God is for us, who can be against us?”

Second, I believe that we can do something about the destructive federal policies that make it difficult to survive this economic downturn. We must work together now to send true fiscal conservatives to Congress.  With your vote, I will go to Washington as your New Voice for fiscal responsibility in government.  I will make it a priority to enact policies that will encourage entrepreneurial job creation and will work to implement a fair tax system because I understand what you need to be successful in rebuilding your career and business and have a productive life going forward.

While my opponents spend their time looking for ways to spin my past business misfortune into their own political gain, I will be preparing to be your advocate with real, workable solutions to the problems you are facing. As your new Congressman, I want to help you make a comeback from your own setbacks.

P.S.  For those who continue to dig into my past looking for muck, let me go ahead and confess it was Howard Morrison and I who threw the firecrackers into the back of the guy’s truck in Norcross, GA in May of 1973 at 3:00 a.m.  It still makes me laugh today thinking about those dogs howling in the back of that truck.

Leave a Reply

